Meet Nordic walker Stew Thornley

Those of you who come to my group walks may have already met Stew Thornley, a frequent participant. But you probably aren’t aware of Stew’s many interests, abilities and accomplishments. I initially got to know Stew as a colleague at the Minnesota Department of Health, but since then have found we share other things, like the same birthday, and an appreciation for Nordic walking!

Can you tell us a little about yourself?

I’ve spent most of my life here, except when I got out of high school, I went into radio sports broadcasting and worked in Sauk Center and DeSoto. I went to the University of Minnesota, graduated in business, and went into sales in the ‘80s. At the same time I was still doing various types of announcing.

Besides reading about sports, I started to research and write more. Throughout the ‘80s I worked on a book called ‘On to Nicollet’ – Nicollet Park was the ball park where the Minneapolis Millers played. I never saw them, but heard about those days from my dad. I found a publisher and got the book published in 1988.

That opened the door to doing books for children and adults. I’ve written 40 total. Mostly on different sports, but also one on graves of notable Minnesotans. I also did a children’s science book co-authored with my wife before we got married.

That created opportunities to do other stuff. It led to other communications jobs, including where I am at the health department, where I do training, public education and communications with the Drinking Water Program.

Since 1998 I’ve been doing online scoring at Twins games. I enter info into a computer. Since 2007 I have been one of the official scorers. In addition to keeping the official score, I have to call balls a hit or an error. That can get pretty touchy. I’m also an official scorer for the Timberwolves, but don’t have to make calls.

How did you get started Nordic walking?

I think I heard about it when you and I connected at the Bioneers Conference – I thought it sounded interesting. I started in August 2007 when we came to a group walk at Reservoir Woods. Then we did your class, and came for several weeks and learned to do it better.

What do you like about Nordic walking?

It kind of seems like you get a good total body workout. It’s supposed to be like cross country skiing, but that’s more of a production. With Nordic walking you can just grab your poles and be out the door in five minutes. I can get some of the same benefits as cross country skiing without having to do a big production. You don’t have to drive to the Y, change your clothes, etc. If I have to go through too much of a production it ends up not happening.

How often do you go Nordic walking? What’s your routine?

Sometimes I keep my poles in my car. Sometimes I go out from home to a park near where I live. I try to walk at least once a week. It depends on how things go. Sometimes I get up a little early before work and go out.

Where I go most often is near Central Park in Roseville because it’s near my house. I don’t have to deal with busy streets. Sometimes when I’m out running errands I’ll work it in. I know the trail near us takes 25 minutes to go around, so I’ll think, “Hey, do I have 25 minutes to go and walk?” and I’ll just do it then.

What advice do you have for people who want to increase their Nordic walking?

Keeping ‘em handy. I keep mine in my car. I do basketball announcing out in St. Louis Park – I want to beat the traffic so I go before rush hour, and then have some extra time, so I walk around Lake Calhoun. Find a nice place – like a lake – that seems like a nice place to walk, and just go out and walk.

Do you ever feel self-conscious Nordic walking?

Not really. Sometimes people will ask how I like the sticks.

What do you tell them?

I say “ I like ‘em. You get a better workout with them.”

For more interesting and entertaining information on Stew and his activities, visit his website: www.stewthornley.net

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Meet Nordic walker Stew Thornley”

  1. Rosie Senjem Says:

    Fun interview. Nice to meet ya Stew!

Leave a comment